Terminology and Acronyms

Find out more about the common terminology and acronyms used in safeguarding adults in sports and activity.

ACE – Adverse Childhood Experiences

ACT – Ann Craft Trust

ADASS – Association of Directors of Adult Social Services

ASC – Autistic spectrum conditions

CIN – Child in need

CP Plan – Child protection plan

CQC – Care Quality Commission

CSE – Child Sexual Exploitation

CSH – Children who sexually harm

CSP – Community Safety Partnership

DA – Domestic abuse

DBS – Disclosure and Barring Service

DHR – Domestic homicide review

DoLS – Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards

DSP – Designated senior person

EHCPlan – Education and health care plan

EI – Early intervention

FGM – Female Genital Mutilation

FMU – Forced Marriage Unit

ICPC – Initial child protection conference

LA – Local Authority

LAC – Looked-after child

LADO – Local Authority-Designated Officer

LPA – Lasting Power of Attorney

LSAB – Local Safeguarding Adults Board

MAM – Multi agency meeting

MAPPA – Multi Agency Public Protection Arrangements

MASH – Multi Agency Safeguarding Hubs

MCA – Mental Capacity Act 2005

MSP – Making Safeguarding Personal

IMCA – Independent Mental Capacity Advocate

IMHA – Independent Mental Health Advocate

OPG – Office of the Public Guardian

PALS – Patient Advice and Liaison Service

PIPOT – People in positions of trust

PoT – Position of Trust

PVG Protecting Vulnerable Groups

RCPC – Review child protection conference

S47 Enquiries  – Child protection enquiries to establish whether a child is at risk of significant harm.

SAAR – Safeguarding Adults at Risk

SAR – Safeguarding Adult Review

SCR – Serious case review

SENCO – Special educational needs coordinator

SIRI – Serious incident requiring investigation

TAF – Team around family

Relevant organisations

Adult safeguarding contact points – The place where safeguarding concerns are raised within the local area.

This could be a local authority single point of access, the relevant social work or mental health team or a safeguarding hub.

Court of Protection – https://www.gov.uk/courts-tribunals/court-of-protection

Forced Marriage Unit – https://www.gov.uk/guidance/forced-marriage

Local Authority – Adult Social Care, Adult Safeguarding Leads

Police – may be referred to as Community Safety Units or Vulnerable Adults Unit